Cedar Point: America’s Roller Coast!

When it comes to summer fun, Cedar Point is always on my list.  In my opinion, if you are a fan of roller coasters, and I most definitely am, Cedar Point is a must-visit destination.

When my friends and I go to Cedar Point, we usually make a full day of it.  We get there shortly after it opens, and we stay until it’s closed.  (Here’s a hint: If you are already in line for a ride when the park closes, you still get to ride that ride.  For example, if the park closes at 10pm, and you get in line at 9:58pm, even if the line is an hour wait, you get to ride the ride.  I’ve been able to do this several times to add just a little bit more time to the fun inside the park!)

Honestly, if you aren’t really a roller coaster fan, I don’t know what rides to recommend for you at the park.  It’s not that they don’t have other rides; they have a ton of rides of all kinds.  It’s just that I don’t ride them.  I simply walk past them as I make my way to the next roller coaster!  There are so many coasters (17 in total), that just riding them takes about all day!

Unfortunately, my favorite coasters are popular among most thrill seekers and usually have a waiting time of between 1.5-2 hours.  I’ll wait though!  Millennium Force and Maverick are my absolute favorites.  These are the best roller coasters!  The wait is usually– scratch that, always– long, but I think it’s worth it!  Millennium Force opened in 2000, and its first hill is an 80-degree drop (from a height of 310 feet!).  The ride lasts 2 minutes and reaches a speed of 93 mph!  Maverick opened in 2007.  It doesn’t go as fast as Millennium Force, it only reaches 70 mph, but its first hill is what makes it so awesome… a 95-degree drop!  This, in addition to all of its other twists and turns makes it an exciting 2.5 minute ride!

Top Thrill Dragster is another great ride.  Honestly, it’s awesome.  It reaches a height of 420 feet!  It goes from 0-120 mph in a matter of 4 seconds!  Riders on the train only know when it will take off a second before it actually does!  Why doesn’t it qualify as a “favorite” of mine then?  Because through all this excitement, the ride only lasts 17 seconds, and the wait to ride it is usually around 1.5-2 hours!  I have a hard time justifying waiting that long for a ride that lasts less than a minute.  If the wait wasn’t so long, I would definitely add it to my favorites list.  Loving coasters like I do, though, I still try to ride it when I go.  This is the ride I usually try to get in line for about 5 minutes before the park closes.  The one time I did this, we decided to wait even longer to ride front car… which we did… at night… when the bugs are out… and they splattered all over our faces… gross… but still an awesome thrill!

Basically, Cedar Point is a summer-must for anyone who can get there.  It’s an easy day trip for me, so hopefully I will be able to make another trip there this summer!

This entry was posted in Theme Park, United States and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cedar Point: America’s Roller Coast!

  1. Mom says:

    How about Myrtle Beach this summer?

  2. foreignfilm1 says:

    Cedar Point is a fun summer place to go. I like to go on roller coasters but i hate to wait in the long lines. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve been on a roller coaster for about 5 years. I’ll have make a trip up to Cedar Point soon!

  3. Nicki says:

    I spent the summer of 2006 on an archaeological field school at Johnson’s Island, through Heidelberg College, under the direction of Dr. David Bush. From Johnson’s Island, you could see Cedar Point. I never went, mainly because I don’t ride rides, so it would be a waste of money for me. In case you didn’t know, Johnson’s Island served as a POW camp for Confederate officers during the Civil War. That summer we excavated where the hospital building stood. I found a human tooth and the bottom of a metal cup. The people of Sandusky used to come to visit the camp to watch the prisoners play baseball.

  4. bstanze says:

    I love Cedar Point! When I go I usually make a weekend out of it because it is a longer drive for me, but so worth it! Millennium Force is probably my favorite roller coaster. I always freak out about the height as the cars slowly creep up that first huge hill, but after that it is nothing but fun. And it really feels like it lasts a fair amount of time, unlike some coasters that seem to end just as they are starting to get good. I’m a big fan of Top Thrill Dragster and Wicked Twister, too. I could ride those three coasters all day, tummy willing.

Leave a Reply

