N is for New York

The Big Apple.  I’ve been there twice.  The first time, I was a sophomore in high school, and I went with my high school orchestra.  We had been invited to play at Carnegie Hall!  I remember when we first got to the hall for rehearsal.  I can’t even begin to describe the amazing sound quality in Carnegie Hall.  It is like nothing I have ever heard before or since.

That night was the concert.  We were one of several student groups playing.  We performed second to last.  I remember going on stage.  I was so excited, and nervous.  We played three pieces of music.  The one piece was one of the most difficult pieces I have ever played: The Russian Easter Overture by Rimsky-Korsakov.  It is a fantastic piece, and a challenging piece for violinists… guess what instrument I play.  That’s right, the violin.  I was so nervous to play this piece that night.  It starts slow but then speeds up and doesn’t slow down at all before it ends pages and pages later.  That night, we played it faster than we ever did before.  The rush I felt at the end of the piece, the last one we played that night, was unbelievable.  The audience was applauding and on its feet before we were even done.  We got a standing ovation in Carnegie Hall!  The first group that night to get one.  We spent several more days in the city, sightseeing.  It was a great trip!

The second time I went to New York was to visit my friend who went to school nearby.  We just spent the day in the city, but again we had a blast.  It was 2 weeks before Christmas, so we got to see the city all decorated and the festivities that were going on.  It even began to snow just a bit as we left that night.  We spent the day shopping, and touring, and even went to see a Broadway play in the afternoon.  Another great trip to NYC.

Needless to say, I have great memories of visiting New York, and I hope to go back again some day.  I don’t want to live there, but I want to make many more trips.  Sure, I visited Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty.  I’ve seen a play both on and off-Broadway.  I’ve spent part of an afternoon in Central Park and evenings at Times Square.  Still, there is so much to see and do that I can’t wait to go back again!

This entry was posted in United States, US City and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to N is for New York

  1. 2011mound says:

    The trips sound they were amazing! NY, New York is a remarkable city. I’ve only had the chance to visit once with family and we stayed in Manhattan. Like you, it was during the Christmas season, so we had to chance to see Rockefeller decorated. I will never forget at the Rockefeller Center we saw a family from Beavercreek. Small world! If I have the chance to go back, I would love to do more exploring.

  2. foreignfilm1 says:

    That’s awesome that you had the chance to play at Carnegie Hall! While on your trip did you get to eat at Carnegie Deli? This delicatessen has HUGE corned beef and pastrami sandwiches. Very good but it’s like a heart attack waiting to happen with just the first bite.

    I have some family members that live just outside the borough of Manhatten. It’s always fun to visit them and check out new places in the city that we haven’t seen before. Being fans of the beat writers and 70s punk rock music my brother and I had to go check out the Hotel Chelsea. As we toured the hallways, took pictures, and imagined where Allen Ginsberg and William S. Burroughs shared ideas, a nice eccentric artist invited us in to his apartment. We talked about what it is like living at the Chelsea and the rich history behind the “Chelsea Walls.”

    I agree with you though, I wouldn’t want to live there. Visit there frequently yes, but not live.

    • Tricia says:

      We didn’t get to go to the deli, although I think I would have liked to! The first trip was pretty scheduled. Really only had nights free, and my friends and I typically spent them at Times Square. The nightlife there is so… alive!

  3. maggie z says:

    That is so awesome that you got to play there!! What a great NYC experience. I would so love to hear you play Tricia.

    NYC is one our favorites places in the world. I’m with you – it’s so alive there. It’s so different from LA – way more active, fast-moving. I think I would actually like to live there for a little while (but not forever!).

Leave a Reply

