J is for Jamaica

Day “J” and I haven’t forgotten yet!

Jamaica!  I was there for a day (literally) when I was about 12 years old.  It was one of our stops for the cruise I was on with my family (mom, dad, younger brother, aunt, uncle, and 2 cousins).  Because we were only in Jamaica for one day, we didn’t have a lot of time to explore a lot, but it was still such a fun day!

Once we got off the ship at Jamaica, we had to rent a cab.  The cabby’s accent was awesome (Jamaican of course).  We all kept asking him “any problems?” just dying from him to say “No problem, mon!”  We finally got it out of him!  He laughed once he realized what we were doing all that time, and told us again “No problem, mon.  Only situations.”  (Talk about a motto for the rest of the trip!)

Ok, so I just spent a paragraph talking about our cabby, and that was just the beginning of the day.  Our excursion in Jamaica was, I consider, a true adventure:  we climbed Dunn’s River Falls.  It’s a 600 foot waterfall in Jamaica that doesn’t go straight up/down but twists and turns in its path making it possible to climb it.  To do this, we formed with all of the other tourists, a giant human chain and worked our way up.  It took several hours, but it was such a feeling of accomplishment when we finally reached the top.  I highly recommend to anyone who spends time in Jamaica to climb Dunn’s River Falls!

This was the only thing we got to do in Jamaica because we had to get back on the ship and head back out to sea, but it was enough to make me want to go back.  Jamaica is a beautiful country!

This entry was posted in International and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to J is for Jamaica

  1. Spenc says:

    I love waterfalls, I’ve never heard of climbing up one. I just added Jamaica to my travel list, I want to climb up the waterfall.

Leave a Reply

